Select Page

Six more countries have been added to the UK quarantine list, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced.

Britons traveling from France, the Netherlands, Monaco, Malta, Turks & Caicos & Aruba must self-isolate for 14 days if they arrive in the UK after 4 am on Saturday. UK quarantine

The move came after Boris Johnson said ministers would be “absolutely ruthless” in deciding on whether to impose the measures on a host of new nations.

The decision to add France will cause dismay for thousands of British holidaymakers currently in the country.

Last year 9.27 million Britons enjoyed trips to the country, making it the most popular destination after Spain.

The crackdown was made in response to the spread of the virus, with the latest 14-day cumulative figures showing 32.1 Covid-19 cases per 100,000 people in France, compared with 18.5 in the UK.

Before the announcement was made, Mr Johnson said: “We have got to be absolutely ruthless about this, even with our closest and dearest friends and partners.

“I think everybody understands that.”

Mr. Johnson said the Government could not allow the UK’s population to be “reinfected or the disease to come back in”.

“That is why the quarantine measures are very important and we have to apply them in a very strict way,” he said during a visit to Belfast.

Meanwhile, France’s secretary of state for European affairs said the UK decision would lead to “reciprocal measures” across the Channel.

Clement Beaune tweeted: “A British decision which we regret and which will lead to reciprocal measures, all in hoping for a return for normal as soon as possible.”

Downing Street’s decision was finalized after the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public Health England indicated a significant change in Covid-19 risk in each of the destinations.

The Foreign Office has now updated its advice to warn against all but essential travel to the six nations because of the heightened risk of infection. Read more

Also read: Illegal rave organisers face £10,000 fines under tough new coronavirus rules