Select Page

People returning to the UK from Belgium, Andorra or the Bahamas will have to quarantine at home for 14 days from Saturday.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said rising Covid-19 infection levels in the three countries mean they have been removed from the so-called travel corridors which meant arrivals were exempt from self-isolating.

In a tweet, he said the measures would come into force in England from Saturday at 4am, echoing a statement made earlier by the Scottish Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf.

In Wales, the restrictions come into force from midnight tonight August 6.

At the same time, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office has updated its travel advice to warn against all but essential trips to Andorra, Belgium and The Bahamas.

In a tweet, Mr Shapps said: “Data shows we need to remove Andorra, Belgium and The Bahamas from our list of #coronavirus Travel Corridors in order to keep infection rates DOWN.

“If you arrive in the UK after 4am Saturday from these destinations, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

Meanwhile, Brunei and Malaysia have been added to the Government’s travel corridor list, following a decrease in confirmed cases of coronavirus, meaning arrivals from these countries no longer need to quarantine.

In another tweet, Mr Shapps said: “Data shows that we are now able to add Brunei and Malaysia to the Government’s Travel Corridor list following a decrease in confirmed cases of coronavirus.

“From 4am on Tuesday, passengers arriving in England from these destinations will no longer be required to self-isolate.”

Figures released on Thursday show Belgium has suffered a consistent increase in cases in recent weeks, rising to 27.8 new cases per 100,000 people.

This towers over the UK’s latest rate of 8.4 per 100,000, and is higher than Spain’s 27.4 level around the time when the UK introduced travel restrictions there. Read more

Also read: Hong Kong activist Joshua Wong files court challenge to 2019 poll disqualification